NEW
Out of Stock
4.6 out of 5 Customer Rating
Contender™ Slim Convertible Car Seat is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 134.
  • y_2023, m_2, d_4, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_47, tr_87
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP_1590068, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_graco
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 0ms
  • reviews, product
NEW
Out of Stock

Contender™ Slim Convertible Car Seat

4.6 out of 5 Customer Rating
Contender™ Slim Convertible Car Seat is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 134.
  • y_2023, m_2, d_4, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_47, tr_87
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP_1590068, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_graco
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 0ms
  • reviews, product
$159.99
Final Sale: may not be returned or exchanged
Color
Selection will refresh the page with new results.
$159.99
Final Sale: may not be returned or exchanged

Want us to let you know when the item you wanted is back in stock?


Free standard shipping on orders of $40 or more! Details


Show More

Product Details

Description
The Graco® Contender™ Slim Convertible Car Seat features 2 modes of use to grow with your child from rear-facing harness (5-40 lb) to forward-facing harness (22-65 lb), with a slim car seat design that helps save space in your back seat. This is the perfect travel car seat as its lightweight design easily transfers from car to car, and it is certified for aircraft use to help keep your child safe while flying. It easily grows with your child with the Simply Safe Adjust™ harness system, which allows the headrest and harness to adjust together in one motion. The included LATCH and easy-to-read level indicator help make installation easier. This car seat conveniently features a removable, dishwasher-safe cup holder, a machine-washable seat pad, and 2 recline positions for ease of use. The car seat is Graco® ProtectPlus Engineered™ to help protect in frontal, side, rear, and rollover crashes.
  • No-Rethread Simply Safe Adjust™ Harness System allows the headrest and harness to adjust together in one motion
  • Choose the perfect headrest height from 8 positions to get the safest fit for your child as they grow
  • Removable, dishwasher-safe cup holder can be used on either side of the seat to make room for additional passengers
  • LATCH equipped for an easy installation
  • Open belt paths for easier installation access
  • 2-position recline keeps your child comfy and helps for a better installation
  • Easy-to-read level indicator helps eliminate installation guesswork
  • Removable, plush head and body inserts help to keep your infant feeling cradled and comfortable
  • Seat pad is comfortable and machine-washable
  • EPS, energy-absorbing foam for effective impact management
  • Meets or exceeds the child restraint criteria for a frontal crash test under the US FMVSS 213
  • Side-impact tested for occupant retention with the built-in 5-point harness system
  • Rear-impact tested based on the European Rear-Impact Crash Pulse
  • Tested to Graco's RollSafe™ testing standard based on the European rollover testing procedure
  • Tested using approximately twice the impact force required by the US FMVSS 213 car seat safety standard
  • Tested for structural integrity in extreme hot and cold temperatures
  • Be sure to check your local and state laws, as well as AAP and NHTSA recommendations, for car seat usage
Specifications
  • Color: West Point
  • Model#: 2156226
  • Product Width: 18.9 in
  • Product Height: 24.75 in
  • Product Depth: 21.5 in
  • Product Weight: 16 lb
Recommended Use
Rear-Facing Harness: 5-40 lb, head must be at least 1" below headrest adjustment handle; Forward-Facing Harness: 22-65 lb, up to 49"
STOP using this child restraint and throw it away 7 years after the date of manufacture.
Children are safer riding rear-facing and should ride rear-facing as long as possible, until they reach the maximum rear-facing height or weight rating for their car seat. Then children should ride forward-facing, using the built-in harness system for as long as possible until they reach the maximum forward-facing weight or height for their car seat. Be sure to check your local and state laws, as well as AAP and NHTSA recommendations, for car seat usage.*
*Graco Supports the American Academy of Pediatrics and National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's Car Seat Guidelines. Visit our safety page for information on car seat usage recommendations.
Care & Maintenance
  • CLEANING SEAT PAD: Machine wash pad in cold water with gentle soap on delicate cycle & drip dry. Do not use bleach
  • CLEANING BUCKLE: Place in a cup of warm water and gently agitate the buckle. Press red button several times while in the water. Do not submerge the buckle strap. Do not use soap, detergents or lubricants
  • CLEANING HARNESS: Surface wash only with mild soap & damp cloth or wipes. Do not immerse harness straps or latch strap in water. For full instructions see here
  • CLEANING HARDGOODS: Metal and plastic parts may be cleaned with mild soap & cool water For full cleaning instructions, please refer to your user manual or contact Customer Service at www.gracobaby.com or 1-800-345-4109

Replacement Parts Graco

We at Graco care about safety and the only way we can make sure that the parts of your order are a perfect fit for your Graco product is to ask for the model number and manufacture date of the product you own.

Locating Your Product Information

Model Number

Most Model numbers can be found on the back of your Graco® product. In some Graco products, model numbers can be found on the top of a base unit.

Manufacturing Date

This date refers to the day, month, and year in which a Graco product was made, and can be found on the sticker along with the model number. Here are three examples manufactured date formats:

011305

GRACO CHILDREN'S PRODUCTS INC. EXTON PA 1931 1-888-224-5649 Made in U.S.A.

M M D D Y Y

Model: 7777DEV

Manufactured in 20160205

EXTON PA 1931 1-888-224-5649 Made in U.S.A.

Y Y Y Y M M D D

Model: 7777DEV

Manufactured in 130105

GRACO CHILDREN'S PRODUCTS INC. EXTON PA 1931 1-888-224-5649 Made in U.S.A.

D D M M Y Y
Rated 1 out of 5 by from New car seat was already almost a year old! I ordered 2 of these car seats in late August 2020 and received the car seats with a manufacture date of November 2019. That is almost a year old. Car seats expire so I am losing out on time that they could have been used. If the car seats are going to be older when you buy them, it should be listed on the website as a warning that you don't how old the car seats will be until you get them. When you buy something brand new that will have an expiration, you don't expect it to be almost a year old when you buy it.
Date published: 2020-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy Carseat We have really enjoyed the Graco Contender GO. The carseat provides a lot of support and cushion to make for what seems like a comfortable ride. We haven't had any complaints from our 18 month old. Unlike the carseat we were previously using, the Graco Contender GO is easy to load and unload, into the car and our child within. The straps adjust easily and the slimmer design allow for more room in our back seat. I also like the sleek design and cupholder. Finally, my favorite feature is the adjustable headrest. We are fans so far! Thanks to the Stellar Product Testing Panel for providing us with this car seat.
Date published: 2021-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An upgrade I have used Graco car seats with majority of my children and have always been pleased. However, we have been looking to upgrade because our old Graco even though safe and sturdy was a beast and transferring it between my van and my husband’s car was a chore. When Stellar Product Testing sent me this model to review I was excited! Just like my previous model it is safe and sturdy but this model it much slimmer and lighter making it a breeze to transfer. It still has two cup holders for drink and snack but this model actually has the ability to remover the cups for easier cleaning. The car seat also will grow with my child so he can stay in this one until he upgrades to a booster seat.
Date published: 2021-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Graco Contender Carseat I received this product through Stellar Product Testing Panel. I’m very happy with the form and function of the car seat. It’s new slimmer design makes more room in the backseat of the car, and my 16 month old was very comfortable riding in it. The cup holders are great and It’s very easy to install, we had no issues making it secure. I do wish I had a few more options for growing with the child, while it has the backward facing option and forward facing option, it doesn’t have the booster seat like some car seats do. Overall extremely happy with the product, I’ve always been a big fan of Graco. I would certainly recommend this car seat to other moms as a functional and affordable option.
Date published: 2021-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fine slim car seat This convertible car seat is similar to other Graco convertible seats I’ve used in the past, only it is slimmer, which is handy. I love the complete infant insert, so I can feel comfortable with a younger baby using it. I like the zero-rethread harness adjustment. The only thing that I dislike compared to my other Graco convertible is that the lever to loosen the buckle straps is harder to use. It’s the same as in my Graco infant seats; you reach in the little spot and push down. But my other Graco convertible has one that you reach in and lift up, and it’s just much easier. But that’s my only complaint on this seat. I received this seat for free evaluation through the Stellar Product Testing Panel.
Date published: 2022-01-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Need to change to quick release latch type clip!! I would give this a 5 star rating for everything except that you are still using the horrible old anchor clips instead of the new quick release latch clip. This makes it way harder to remove and put in another vehicle. So I had to return this before using!
Date published: 2021-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good slim option for small kids I was so excited to receive this Contender Slim from the Stellar Product Testing Panel. My 3 year old currently rides in a regular contender, so I was curious to see how they would compare. I was pretty impressed, right out of the box. The fabric is really nice (and machine washable!), it’s very intuitive to install, and adjusts easily even when installed(a must for us when 2 differently sized kids may ride in the seat). It’s definitely slimmer, which is good if you need the extra room in a back row, but does make it somewhat less comfy for a bigger kiddo to ride in. Our (big for her age) 3 year old prefers her old contender, and said it’s “ok, but too snuggly.” That makes our 1 year old its primary occupant, and she seems to be quite happy in it.
Date published: 2022-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sleek car seat We received this product as part of the Stellar Product Testing Panel and love tbe car seat! We have a 3 1/2 year old and 2 1/2 year old and they both fit comfortably in it. The removable cup holders give it a slimmer design and make it more comfortable for passengers riding next to the car seat. We also have a third baby on the way and the infant insert padding looks very comfortable for a baby. The only thing I don’t like is that it has the LATCH system instead of InRight LATCH - that was what really sold me on our previous car seats
Date published: 2021-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent car seat for space saving and safety Huge thank you to Stellar Product Testing Panel for changing my life with this car seat! This car seat is everything!!!! I have a six month old, and a 2 year old. With their car seats, my 11 year old had such a small amount of space to sit between them, we hardly go anywhere because of it, and definitely not on long car rides. This seat is so slim that he finally has enough space to ride comfortably, and move around freely in his seat. This car seat has so many great features too. It's a black color, gender neutral, and looks gorgeous. Obviously safety is most important, it's impact tested on the front, sides, and rear, as well as roll safe testing to ensure optimal safety. It is tested for extreme temperatures of hot and cold. It has an 8 position head rest for as your child grows, has a dishwasher safe clip on cup holder, and the belts are designed for easier installation and fitting. It has a 5 point harness that you can use for babies as small as 5lbs. And it goes all the way up to forward facing 65 lbs!!! It being a transitional carseat works for babies of all ages, well into toddler-hood!! It has all the bells and whistles. It's so great that we decided to replace our other car seat for out older baby to this same exact one, and the amount of space it made is UNREAL!! Highly recommend this seat!!!
Date published: 2022-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good The Graco Contender Go is a good midrange.convertible car seat for someone looking for a simple car seat. It doesn't have some features of higher price point seats like premium latch connectors or multiple recline options, but it's lightweight and slim. Optional cup holders makes fitting into small cars easy. Speaking of easy, the norethread harness is super quick and easy to adjust so kids of different sizes can fit without changing much. My 28lb 3 year old fit comfortably. It feels quality built without being too heavy. My only downside is the lack of recline options and jhook latch connectors but if don't plan to uninstall it frequently that won't be a big deal. I received this product from the Stellar Product Testing Panel but all opinions are my own.
Date published: 2021-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good seat but painful to install I've had this car seat for over a year, and once installed it works very well and does it's job well. The problem though is the installation itself - I've had continuous issues tightening the straps to the actual seat of the car takes a lot of patience (angling the belts, using lots of strength) and can be very frustrating transferring the seat from car to car
Date published: 2021-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Affordable and Reliable It's a wonderful seat for my little one. I really enjoy that the base is already attached to the seat so there's no extra hassle getting it installed in the car. Since my girl is getting taller now there's more room for her legs to stretch with her still being rear facing. She seems to be very comfortable and always has such peaceful naps when there's extended car trips. The price was great as well and this car seat will last her a while which I can't complain about as well. Parents, this is the one!
Date published: 2022-01-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It is a decent slim car seat This car seat fits very well inside my small car. I love the pockets to put the buckles into while you’re situating your baby, and the car seat has lots of padding and is very comfortable for my little one. The seat was very easy to level in my car because I have flat seats, but it could be more challenging if you do not have flat seats. There is only one incline position for each rear and front facing. In order to level the seat you will have to use thin rolled towels. That’s fine but can get finicky. I also wasn’t able to get the installation as tight as other car seats using the latch system which is pretty important to me. The seat is secure, but it moves a bit more than what I prefer. I was sent this carseat as part of the Stellar Product Testing Panel in exchange for my honest review.
Date published: 2021-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Carseat for grandmas car I am a grandmother and bought this carseat so we didnt have to keep switching out. It is sturdy, lighterweight, and easy to install. Perfect for my needs.
Date published: 2022-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Contender slim I received this product as part of stellar product testing panel. My 7 month old baby is currently using the Contender Slim car seat. It was extremely easy to install and my child seems to be quite comfortable in it. It has room for him to grow so that’s a very important feature for our family. I really enjoy how light it is and how easy it is to transfer from my boyfriend and my vehicle as well. I will definitely be recommending this to my friends with babies.
Date published: 2022-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from lightweight easy to use car seat Like everything Graco, this is a great reliable car seat! As a mom of 4, I did really love how lightweight it is. Sometimes we have to shuffle a car seat between cars and it’s nice that it’s so light, it makes switching it feel less of a burden. My only complaint is that it didn’t feel as expensive as some of their other products. We have 3 Graco slim fits, which feel really sturdy. The contender does feel safe, just doesn’t feel as HIGH as quality. This seat is slim, I would say slimmer than our slim fits so would be a great seat for a middle seat to squeeze between two other seats. I did not like the cup holder it had, if a cup holder is of HIGH priority to you, this seat wouldn’t be for you. I think this would make a great second seat to move between dad’s car and grandparent’s cars, etc. Thank you stellar panel for this item to review!
Date published: 2022-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Its a Contender As a mom of three, I have used many different brands of car seats and the Graco Contender Slim is by far the lightest and easiest to install. I can carry it in one hand, which makes it great for travel. When adjusting the recline, all you have to do is flip the bar one way for forward facing and the other way for rear facing. The slim design allows us to fit three car seats across the bench seat of our Mazda CX-5. I love the simple black and grey fabric. I do find it hard to tighten the harness when rear facing. My favorite feature is the movable cup holder because I can place the car seat anywhere in the back without worrying about the cup holder being in the way. If you need to squeeze this seat in the middle of two other car seats, you can simply take the cup holder off. I received this car seat from the Stellar Product Testing Panel. All opinions are my own.
Date published: 2022-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slim and comfortable I received this car seat from the Stellar Product Testing Panel. My rear-facing 3.5-year old has been using it for the past two weeks, and we are both thrilled with it! I love the slimmer design of this seat. My daughter typically uses a Graco Extend2Fit, and I was initially concerned that this seat's slimmer build might come at the expense of comfort. She says she has plenty of room, though - we've taken a couple of longer drives in the last week with no complaints.  And I am overjoyed to have gained some extra room in the back seat of my crossover!  The seat was extremely easy to install and to move between cars, just like the other Graco seats we own. And I love the fabric - the neutral palette looks great in my car, and so far messes have wiped off easily. Overall this seat seems to be really well designed. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to a friend!
Date published: 2021-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great carseat This carseat is so awesome! I received this from the Stellar Testing Product Panel, and am so glad I did. The design is so sleek, and fits very well. I have a small SUV this seat does not take up a lot of space. My little man does not seem uncomfortable at all. The design makes things easier for a sleeping little one as well. It provides the space for them to lay their head over without looking as if it is uncomfortable.
Date published: 2021-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High End design at Budget friendly price Thanks to the Stellar Product Testing Panel for providing me with this car seat. First impression was that this carseat is beautiful the the shape and design reminds me of much higher end seats. I love cocoon shape of the design. The fabric are nice but seem easy to clean. My toddler enjoyed testing it out. I like the slimmer design. Because of the set up of my vehicle, and the placement of the seat in a middle row captain seat it didn't provide me with extra room at this time but it would do so when used in my husband's truck. It's lightweight enought to change vehicles easily. Install was easy and straight forward. The manual gives very clear instructions not only on install but with what is safest and acceptable at what sizes and ages. Funny enough my favorite feature is that the cup holder is removable and isn't required to be installed like with some seats.
Date published: 2022-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent car seat I received the Graco Contender GO from the Stellar Product Testing Panel. Overall, I like the design of this car seat. The cushions are nice and plush which is a big improvement from our old infant car seat. My 4-week-old looks very comfortable riding in this seat. I do not, however, like the strap pads. They are hard and not very flexible so it dug into my son’s neck. I switched these out with the pads from our other car seat and that’s working much better. This car seat is a little slimmer than our other convertible car seats but not by much, so it doesn’t save as much space as I had hoped. I love how easy it is to install this car seat and to switch it from rear to forward-facing. One con is that this seat is not as sturdy as our others. I have it rear-facing right now so the front of the seat is anchored down but the back end will move if you bump or push it.
Date published: 2021-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfection In A Car Seat This no-frills convertible car seat has everything you could possibly need. As the name suggests, it is slimmer yet still a worthy contender compared to other car seats. The design is minimalistic so it looks great no matter what style you’re going for. The cushions are very plush, I know I don’t have to worry about my child being uncomfortable. The slim form is great, it leaves me with more room in my backseat without sacrificing comfort or safety for my child. You can really tell that this car seat is sturdy is built to last just by the way it feels. The car seat was a breeze to install, it is so light and the instructions are very clear. There is nothing about this seat that I would change. I feel at ease knowing my child is comfortable and safe while riding in the Contender Slim. I received this car seat as a part of the Stellar Product Testing Panel to test and review.
Date published: 2022-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Slim and comfortable This convertible car seat is pretty great! It has a slim design, is easy to install, and has an easy to read recline indicator. I appreciated that it has a slim design and I could easily fit two different convertible seats side by side. Currently, the contender slim (this one) is rear facing for my 18 month old, and we have a separate convertible (not the same brand/type) forward facing for my 3.5 year old side by side. I appreciated that I could easily install and uninstall either seat when directly next to each other as well as the fact that there is plenty of space for the drivers seat with the contender slim rear facing behind it! I also love how lightweight it is! I am currently 6 months pregnant and can easily lift it and install it by myself. This will definitely be my go to car seat for travel purposes (and honestly probably everyday life as well). I have not yet washed the cover but I cannot express how excited I am that the cover is machine washable! We have other car seats that are hand wash only and they are a pain to get clean. A few cons that I have found: the harness straps can be a bit of a challenge to get tightened correctly, there are only two options for recline—either reclined for rear facing or not reclined for forward facing, and the latch system is the “hook” type instead of the push to release latch (but this may be personal preference). I do also like that the shoulder strap protectors have a non slip backing on them! I will also note that my 18 month old (almost 28 lbs, 34” long) comfortably rides rear facing in this and has not given me any complaints about being in the seat, unlike others that we have tried, which is a great selling point for us. We would definitely consider buying another one of these in the future! *I received this car seat from Stellar Product Testing Panel*
Date published: 2022-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety and comfort Sturdy and comfortable for the baby, brings peace of mind to mom and dad
Date published: 2023-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Contender I was given this car seat to try as part of the Stellar Product Testing Panel. I really like this car seat. My favorite feature of it is how easy it is to adjust the straps just by moving the head thing up and down. My 10 month old really liked it. I really like how easy it is to switch it between a front facing and rear facing car seat. I liked that it wasn’t too big so can fit more car seats together in the same row. I wish though that it was a little more lightweight because I don’t like to leave car seats in my car. It would be easier to take it into my apartment if somehow it was easier to carry, even if they added a handle on the back or something. I really like how easy it was to put the seat belt through either way it is supposed to face. So, overall… it is easy to install and adjust, it is nice and comfortable, and the only thing negative is that I wish it was a bit easier to carry. It is a very nice car seat.
Date published: 2021-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for multiple seats across We love this car seat. It was incredibly easy to install which is always a selling point for me when it comes to car seats. It is a skinny car seat which is great for fitting multiple seats across! Even with it being a narrow seat my two year old has plenty of room and isn’t cramped at all! Thanks to Stellar Review Panel for providing me with this seat!
Date published: 2022-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this slim fit The first thing we noticed was that this is traditional great Graco quality. Made with quality materials. We've had other brands where the install was difficult, but this one was magically easy. It doesn't overwhelm you with too many options. The recline was especially simple and installation all around was very convenient. This is great for new parents or that veteran parents like us can appreciate. He was very comfortable! We are using this for rear-facing for a 3-year-old who is 34 lbs and 38 inches. It's thinner than our other seats which helps so much with the space in our car. Before this one, with two car seats, no one could sit in the middle of the back seat. Now, that seat has space to fit someone. The cupholder doesn't lock in so you can always remove them if you didn't want those extra inches right there. I did receive this as part of the Stellar Product Testing Panel. My opinions are those of my own and my family.
Date published: 2021-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Light and convenient! This car seat was great for travel! We took it on the airplane and unfortunately it did not fit rear facing but we quickly moved it to forward facing. It was light weight to fit in a car seat back pack bag and we were able to easily move around the airport as needed. It was also super easy to install in a car in less than a minute!
Date published: 2023-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for price. Good quality for the price we paid. However, the adjusting strap is really hard to access especially with a wiggling toddler. Happy with the material, the secureness, and the ease of hooking it into the car. This is our car seat for Grandma's car but hesitate to recommend this as an everyday carseat.
Date published: 2020-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No complaints This car seat is for trips out with our 1 1/2 year old grandson. The ordering and delivery process went smoothly, fast and easy. At first glance, the car seat looks sturdy and comfortable yet it’s not very heavy. Grandson promptly fell asleep our first trip out in it. I guess that’s a good sign.
Date published: 2022-11-03
  • y_2023, m_2, d_4, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_47, tr_87
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP_1590068, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_graco
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • reviews, product